Uncategorized

It’s Been Reel

Saturday.  Aaron had a race this morning down in Dayton (which he did very well at – 1st in his age group – YAY!) and the kids and I were set to go over to the farmhouse.  It’s been a little while since I’ve been there.  My efforts have been concentrated on getting this house ready to go and keeping it “show ready” all the time.  Not exactly fun or exciting, but there you have it.

Today was going to be a get-a-ton-of-stuff-accomplished kind of day at the farmhouse.  I was going to clean out the kitchen so they could lay the new flooring in there next weekend.  I was going to put down the area rug in the living room since Aaron put the final coat on the hardwood floors last weekend.  I was going to clean the girls floor upstairs.  When Aaron came over after his race, we were going to powerwash the outside of the house and get some of the icky stuff off the stucco.  Then we were going to mow the yard. 

None of that happened.  I get to the house and was first enamored with all the beautiful spring flowers that were popping out in front of the farmhouse.  Awww…so pretty.  Then we got distracted by checking out the pole barn that’s being built as our garage.  Way cool.  We picked out some awesome colors.  Then it was time to go into the house and start the inside stuff first. 

What on earth?  My key is not opening the door.  I try it again.  And again.  And yet again.  Nothing.  No problem, right?  There are two other doors (for being a small house, we sure do have an awful lot of exterior doors) for me to try.  I try EVERY SINGLE KEY in the locks with no luck.  I try every single key yet again and nope.  No entry for me.  UGH.  Little bit frustrated.

So I decide to get some mowing done.  I’m not sure if I mentioned it or not, but we’re really going old school with our mowing.  Aaron purchased us two reel lawnmowers.  For those of you who may be too young (or just too techy) a reel lawnmower is the Leave-it-to-Beaver kind of mower.  No power.  No gas.  Just swirly little blades of grass cutting power. 

I got the entire backyard done and half of the left side.  Of course I chose the smaller portion of the 3.5 acres.  I think we’re a little bit nuts.  Most people would see the 3.5 acres as a reason to get a riding lawnmower – but nooooo…..not the Kramer 5.  We see it as a chance to get exercise.   I think Aaron figured it up and by walking and mowing, we could walk 19 miles using the reel lawnmower.  Good grief.  It’s going to take us all week to mow that.  Then we’ll have to start back over where we started.  We’re going to be a mowing kind of family apparently.

Okay, I will admit it – it was fun using it.  Watching the blades turn around and grass spitting out everywhere.  Hearing the little whir of the blades as they rotated.  The only downside is when you get a stick or twig caught up in it.  You get some power going behind it and hit a stick and you’re going to end up with some internal damage.  Yikes.  When it stops – it stops fast and hard. 

So that was our adventure today.  Can’t wait to see what next weekend holds for us!!

2 thoughts on “It’s Been Reel”

  1. I mowed part of my parents’ lawn at the new house today with a regular push mower, and really enjoyed it. Wished I could have finished, but needed to get the girls home for a nap. I’m intrigued by the “reel” mower, and would love to volunteer my services to help you tackle the yard, but am not sure Emma and your girls could keep Ellie wrangled!

  2. You can come play with the reel mower anytime!! 🙂 It’s really kind of fun and invigorating!! Of course that’s only after about 1/3 of an acre – not sure what I’ll feel like after 3.5!! We’ll put Adam in charge of Ellie and the girls!! If we can get his nose out of his dsi that is. 🙂

Leave a comment